Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Lots of Armour smith links! Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  

Were these links helpfull?
Yes
94%
 94%  [ 17 ]
No
5%
 5%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 18

Author Message
Johannes S.





Joined: 01 Mar 2004

Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 01 Mar, 2004 8:20 am    Post subject: Lots of Armour smith links!         Reply with quote

Well helo every one! This is my first post on myArmoury.com and I am going to post links to 55 armour smiths to make a good start on posting here. Enjoy!

Albion Armours http://albionarmorers.com/
Arms and Armour http://www.arms-n-armor.com/
Alemain Rivet Munitions Armory http://www.armourworks.com/
Armadillo Armory & Collectibles http://www.armadilloarmory.com/hxarmour.htm
Armlann http://www.armlann.com/armour.htm
Abela, Carmel Emanuel http://www.carmelemanuel.com/
Age of Heroes Armory http://www.ageofheroesarmory.com/cgi-bin/aoh.cgi
Armurerie Cפtי http://www.geocities.com/ordre_des_...ote_armure.html
Armurerie Jalbert http://www.armureriejalbert.cjb.net/
Ashcraft / Baker Armory http://www.ashcraftbaker.com/index.htm
Asher's Armory http://www.19sixty9.com/sca/ashers/
Atelier du Heaume http://www.atelierduheaume.com/
BestArmour.com http://www.bestarmour.com/
Bokalo's Armoury http://www.bokalosarmoury.com/
Clang Armoury http://clang.adkinssoftware.com/index.html
DarkHeart Armoury http://www.darkheartarmoury.com/
Deadly Serious War Arts http://www.swordmerchant.com/
Eisenkleider http://www.karlofgermany.com/
Gillaspie, James Arlen http://www.jamesarlen.com/
GAA Armouries http://www.hammeredsteel.com/gaa/armour/gaa/default.htm
Historic Enterprises http://www.historicenterprises.com/...t_list&c=20
Icefalcon Armory http://www.icefalcon.com/
Illusion Armoring http://www.illusionarmoring.com/
James River Armoury http://www.jamesriverarmoury.com/
Justus, Tom ~ Armourer http://justus.pair.com/index.html
KragAxe Armoury http://www.100megsfree3.com/kragaxe/Metal.html
L'Amurerie Dubי http://www.armuredube.com/
MacKenzie-Smith Medieval Arms & Armor http://www.mackenziesmith.com/
MacPherson, Robert R. http://www.lightlink.com/armory/armory.html
Mad Matts Armory http://www.geocities.com/madmattsarmory/
Medieval Reproductions http://www.medievalrepro.com/
Merchant Medieval http://www.csolve.net/~medieval/
Minamoto Armouries http://www.scaarmor.com/SCAArmor/
Norse Star Armoury http://www.norsestar.com/
Oaks Armoury http://www.oaksarmoury.com/
Online Armory http://www.onlinearmory.com/
Performance Armour http://www.performancearmour.com/
Plessis Armouries http://www.plessisarmouries.co.uk/index.html
Red Dragon Armoury http://users.ev1.net/~rwreid/armour/
Red Falcon Armouries http://www.redfalconarmouries.com/html/welcome.php
Silvermane Limited http://www.silvermane.com/SMLFrameset.html
Stirling Brown Arms & Armour http://www.servicecentre.co.uk/stirling-brown/
Swords & Armour http://www.swordsandarmor.com/SCA-armor-wearable.html
Thak ~ Blacksmith, Armorer, Sculptor http://www.thakblacksmith.com/index.htp
Talon Armory http://www.talonarmory.com/
Tara Forge http://www.taraforge.com.au/
The Armoury of Bellaern http://members.tripod.com/~kurak/chain.html
The Hammered Wombat http://www.hammeredwombat.com/
Truehearth Armouries http://www.dbis.ns.ca/~carlomeg/
Valentine Armouries http://www.varmouries.com/
The Vistar Armoury http://www.vistarmoury.com/main/index.html
Waldryk's Arms & Armor http://www.waldryk.com/
Wise Ogre Armory http://www.wiseogre.com/
Wind Rose Armoury http://windrosearmoury.com/
Wild Wolf Forge http://www.wildwolfforge.com/

With these 55 links you are bound to find the Maker that fits your style and budget Big Grin


Last edited by Johannes S. on Mon 01 Mar, 2004 12:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profile Send private message
Alexi Goranov
myArmoury Alumni


myArmoury Alumni

Location: San Francisco, CA
Joined: 24 Jan 2004
Reading list: 72 books

Spotlight topics: 2
Posts: 1,191

PostPosted: Mon 01 Mar, 2004 9:42 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Hi Johannes,

I think this list could be much more helpful, if the retailers/makers are organized in some categories, for example the average quality of their products. Assuming some maker as a standard lets say Windlass Steelcrafts, one can organize it by "lower", "similar to", and "better than" categories. I understand that this is largely subjective, and it may seem easier to do than it is, but it will certainly add a completely different browsing experience. Another way of organizing this list is to separate the makers of original armor and weapons from those that simply distribute somebody elses stuff (nothing wrong with that). This comes from the experience that many, many sites simply retail low end products, and I have seen all I want to see from SAC Iberia and Valiant Armoury.

Most of the people in this forum know the where the "good" stuff comes from, and you have included some of those manufacturers. So here is the question I ask my self: If I know where to get the stuff I need, why should I waste my time at questionable/unknown websites, where finding things that I like is possible but less likely? A sincere recommendation of a manufacturer makes me adopt a different attitude towards browsing their website, i.e. I no longer consider it a waste of time, and vise versa.

This does not mean that the list you provided is not helpful, but that it could be much, much more helpful with a short description of what is/or isn't on each of those web-sites. Should you sit down and do that ? If you have purchased stuff from these websites and you can recommend them / or not then maybe worth your while, otherwise do not bother.

Still a decent list that I personally have to explore some more

Sincerely,

Alexi

Edited: When I wrote this post I thought that it was for BOTH Weapons and Armor. Now I read it MORE CAREFULLY and realized that I was wrong. Have that in mind if you find what I said more or less pointless. Big Grin
View user's profile Send private message
Johannes S.





Joined: 01 Mar 2004

Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon 01 Mar, 2004 12:36 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Well I know that most if not all of these people are not supplyers of someone else's work but their own (that was the key thing I was looking at when I got these links). When I was making these links I didn't realy give any thought to the swords these people sell, only the armour. I don't realy know what quality these poeple have, but I have asked questions and looked around. If you live in the US and you want armour then go to Illusion Armoring, Albion Armours, or Arms and Armour (though Illusion Armoring is very inexpensive dont let these low prices fool you on the quality and his customer service though. He has excelent quality and the customer service is great). Now if you live in Canada though then I can recommend Truehearth Armoury and Valintine Armoury of which both have good customer service (note that even though Truehearth Armoury might not have good looking armour I am quite shure that it will last, and both smiths will gladly do any custom projects). And also note that I said that these links are to help you find a smith that suits your style and buget, or else I would have just posted Albion Armours, Arms and Armour, Illusion armoring, Truehearth armory, and Valintine Armoury's links.
View user's profile Send private message


Display posts from previous:   
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Lots of Armour smith links!
Page 1 of 1 Reply to topic
All times are GMT - 8 Hours

View previous topic :: View next topic
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum






All contents © Copyright 2003-2018 myArmoury.com — All rights reserved
Discussion forums powered by phpBB © The phpBB Group
Switch to the Basic Low-bandwidth Version of the forum