Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > MRL Late 13th Century Sword of War Reply to topic
This is a standard topic Go to page 1, 2  Next 
R. D. Simpson

Reading list: 4 books

PostPosted: Sun 06 Mar, 2005 4:52 pm    Post subject: MRL Late 13th Century Sword of War         Reply with quote

Just wondering, has anyone handled the MRL Late 13th Century Sword of War? How does it handle? Is it worth buying, or would you recommend against it?
G. Scott H.

PostPosted: Sun 06 Mar, 2005 5:47 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Hey, R.D. As a newbie here myself, I'm still not that good at finding previously-discussed topics through the "Search" feature on this site, but I know there are a couple of threads pertaining to this, I just can't find them at the moment. Mad Laughing Out Loud I'm sure somebody else will provide the links. Anyway, I remember reading mixed reviews of this sword. One guy said that there was some kind of epoxy filler in the crossguard to keep it from rattling. Doesn't sound too promising. There are a ton of threads here concerning Windlass Steelcrafts, the makers of MRL's swords. I have their Medieval Short Sword (no longer available) and have handled several of their other models. I currently have a sword and a dagger on order from them too. Overall, I like Windlass stuff. It's definitely "lower end" as far as swords are concerned, but functional and tough enough to be well worth the prices they charge(IMHO). By "functional" I mean that they are great for cutting pool noodles, beach mats, cardboard tubes, melons, etc. Some folks have even used them on harder targets with good results. They are fun and decent swords for the money, though if you are well-to-do, you could certainly find better from the likes of Angus Trim, Albion, and Arms & Armour. Again, I'm sure somebody more technically astute than I can provide you with some