Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > if swords weren't the primary weapon why so much focus? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic Go to page 1, 2  Next 
S Ott

PostPosted: Tue 14 Dec, 2004 8:48 pm    Post subject: if swords weren't the primary weapon why so much focus?         Reply with quote

I've only begun into looking into historical weaponry and fighting, but it seems to me that most people agree that swords were more of a secondary weapon behind spears,polearms and arrows. But it seems like little is discussed on the use or qualty of spears, pikes and other primary weapons. And when was a sword used in battle was it just for close range when polearms lost their advantage. I hope I don't sound sarcastic. I am a newbie
Russ Ellis
Industry Professional

Reading list: 42 books

PostPosted: Tue 14 Dec, 2004 9:01 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Probably because since ancient times the sword has been venerated not just for its qualities as a weapon but for its symbolic qualities as well. A sword has been seen as a status symbol, a badge of rank and has been imbued with warrior qualites by many cultures since ancient times. The sword was venerated in medieval Europe and probably even more so in medieval Japan as an embodiment of warrior virtues. Since that time a great deal of mythology and romance has grown around swords. No one beats their plowshares into spear heads... Happy
TRITONWORKS Custom Scabbards
Patrick Kelly

Spotlight topics: 2

PostPosted: Tue 14 Dec, 2004 9:12 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote