Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > What real sword is closest to this design? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Thaddeus Burns

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar, 2007 9:36 am    Post subject: What real sword is closest to this design?         Reply with quote

This is a rough design for a sword I plan to have cusom-made. I'm a bit of a novice with 3d modeling, so bear with me.

Anyway, what would be the closest historical parallel to this design? The only place I've seen anything very similar was carried by soldiers in the playstation game Final Fantasy VIII.

I like it because it has such a short blade for a two-handed sword. I am concerned though, that the blade will be too heavy. Any estimates? I would be willing to scale the blade with down to 2" at the base.

Specifications for this design:

Blade
- 30" length
-2.5" wide at base, narrows to 2" before coming to a point
-10" Handle, add 1" length for the handguard and about 2" for pommel
-Handguard is 11x4.5", 1/2" thick, 1.5" wide
-Center of blade and handle set at 3" from front of guard
Edward Hitchens

Reading list: 9 books

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar, 2007 11:55 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

A two-hander with a 30-inch blade? Hmmm... that might turn out to be very hilt-heavy, especially with the handguard going alongside the grip to the pommel (which, BTW, looks really cool!). Perhaps extend the blade another 6 or 7 inches. Make the blade a diamond-cross section, or model it after an Oakeshott Type XI blade (minus the fuller).
"The whole art of government consists in the art of being honest." Thomas Jefferson
Thaddeus Burns

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar, 2007 11:58 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Hilt-heavy? Really? I figured the width of the blade might already make it too blade heavy!