Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Israel's Monarchal Age Arms... Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Jared M. Olson

Spotlight topics: 1

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jan, 2007 1:49 pm    Post subject: Israel's Monarchal Age Arms...         Reply with quote

Greetings. Being still relatively new to this forum and topic of study, I've browsed as many of the forum posts as possible in order to make this post as educated as possible.

I am a student of Old Testament and Hebrew archaeology and I am also very interested in historic arms and armour. As such, I was wondering if any of you have any knowledge about the types of arms and armour used by the Israelites and their opponents during their monarchal age (i.e. From Saul ~1050 BC to Exile ~722/586 BC).

My guess, if I had to make one, would be that their equipment would be similar to most late bronze age/early iron age equipment like that used by the Greeks, or that used by the Egyptians.

The only few examples of wepons from even close to this era that I could find on the site are the Greek Xiphos and Kopis, and the Egyptian Khopesh http://www.myArmoury.com/talk/viewtopic.php?t...ht=ancient

Any light you might shed on this topic would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks in advance.
Richard R.

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan, 2007 6:25 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote