Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > High Carbon Steel Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Marcus G.

PostPosted: Tue 13 Jan, 2004 5:15 pm    Post subject: High Carbon Steel         Reply with quote

I recently purchased a sword from MRL. Looking back at the sword info I don't see it anywhere that the blade uses high carbon steel. I am new to swords and would like to know if i have purchased a poor quality blade? By the way, the one i purchased is the Two handed Flamberge. Would all of MRL's blades come with high carbon steel? Is there a huge benefit in having high carbon steel?

Last edited by Marcus G. on Tue 13 Jan, 2004 5:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Björn Hellqvist
myArmoury Alumni

myArmoury Alumni

PostPosted: Tue 13 Jan, 2004 5:51 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Most sword steels have about 0.5% carbon. "High carbon steel" is pretty much just sales talk, as it isn't the carbon content (0.4, 0.5 or 0.6%) that determines the quality of the blade, but the tempering and heat-treating. If a steel has too much carbon in it, it becomes more brittle, and one of the few steels that can get away with a high carbon content (about 2%) is the so-called "wootz" steel, a steel from Damascus in Syria.
My sword site
Filip Isaksson

PostPosted: Tue 13 Jan, 2004 11:15 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Hi , Steel below 0.5 % is generally called "mild steel" and steel with a higher carbon content is just called "carbon steel".
Mild steel is often used for sword fittings while carbon steel is used for sword blades, knives etc.
And as björn says, high carbon steel would be to brittle for most blades.
Randal Graham
Industry Professional

PostPosted: Thu 15 Jan, 2004 6:45 pm    Post subject: Mysteries of steel...         Reply with quote

The subject of steel comes up now and again, hope you don't mind if I add my 2 cents worth.