Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Production of Bronze age sword Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Kirsten Frank

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep, 2006 2:13 am    Post subject: Production of Bronze age sword         Reply with quote

Hi,

I’m a conservation student from Hamburg and write my thesis about a bronze-age sword with gold applications. It was found in north Germany near the border to Denmark. The handle was organic material, which was deteriorated in the soil. About 25 years ago a reconstruction of the handle was made. My project is to remove the reconstruction. One topic of my thesis is the production process about the sword. I wonder how the pommel is fixed on the handle. In the x-ray you see two pins coming from the top of the pommel. My question is were the pins founded with the pommel or were they put in later and forged with the pommel? Which kind of organic material like bone, wood, antler do you think is possible for the handle. There is still clay material in the pommel. Do you think it is the casting core from the investment-casting-found or they did it later for fixation of the pommel?

I hope to hear from someone,

Kirsten Frank

Attachment: 13.45 KB
x-ray.jpg

Steve L.

PostPosted: Thu 28 Sep, 2006 2:43 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Hi Kirsten,

Quote:
My question is were the pins founded with the pommel or were they put in later and forged with the pommel?

Are they in fact coming from the pommel - or maybe from the tang? (Like an double hook to safe the pommel?) They could be also the cast-channels for the bronze - but that would be very uncommon on this position!!

Quote:
Which kind of organic material like bone, wood, antler do you think is possible for the handle. There is still clay material in the pommel.

Bone, wood (maybe lignit), antler, ivory (fossil, elefant), whaleteeth, horn.

Quote: