Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > A good first rapier Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
E Stafford

PostPosted: Thu 14 Sep, 2006 10:59 pm    Post subject: A good first rapier         Reply with quote

Hello all. Edwin here, first time posting. I'm a classics student at a University in Utah, USA. As such, I have an interest in this kind of thing, especially for research purposes. I was wondering if anyone could direct me to a good rapier, or at least a good rapier blade. I have an idea of what I'd like: a shell guard rapier with a practice blade, and then later, a stiff, historical blade, rather than something like a foil. I had a candidate in mind, the CAS Iberia Gustav, but it looks like the blade isn't up to par. Any help would be great. I've also looked through the reviews, but nothing there appealed to me. Thanks.
Jonathan Blair

Reading list: 2 books

PostPosted: Fri 15 Sep, 2006 3:19 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Welcome to myArmoury, Edwin. Hope you like it here.
How much are you willing to spend and how long are you willing to wait?

"Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword." - The Lord Jesus Christ, from The Gospel According to Saint Matthew, chapter x, verse 34, Authorized Version of 1611
Roger Hooper

Spotlight topics: 4

PostPosted: Fri 15 Sep, 2006 6:15 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Better than getting a Hanwei/CASI would be to go to www.Darkwoodarmory.com - It seems that all their customers have good things to say about them and their swords.
Max von Bargen

Reading list: 10 books

PostPosted: Fri 15 Sep, 2006 7:50 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote