Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Kipchack helmet, fluting and face mask. Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Nick Trueman

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jun, 2006 4:38 pm    Post subject: Kipchack helmet, fluting and face mask.         Reply with quote

Hi everyone

Im a novice armourer making armour basically for myself. I have been itching to reproduce one of the face mask kipchack helmets. And wandering wether anyone can give me any hints on how to approach making the fluted sections on the pointed dome? (fig 2)
I am proficient in making spagens, and directely riveted plate spagens. Though this one is beyond me and would a appreciate any help.
I was thinking with the face mask that I could do a wax model based on the original face features on the face plate and and then make a wax negative wich I could get sand cast in steel wich then I could beat metal sheet into?

Any thoughts.

Hope this makes sense, english isnt my first language.

PS I have great pics of the original though they are very large.

N

Attachment: 44.33 KB
helmrussipovetz-rus,nomad (14).gif

Hisham Gaballa

Reading list: 7 books

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jun, 2006 7:42 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

That is an interesting project and i look forwards to seeing what you come up with. I'm afraid i can't help you further, I have seen photographs and line drawings of these types of helmets, but most have been poor quality, so I can't comment on the construction. Will you be making a mail aventail and matching mail shirt as well?

Oh BTW I would love to see your pictures. If they are too big you could use a program like Adobe Photoshop or gimp.org to reduce the size. You could also upload the photos to a free image server like photobucket.com, which would automatically reduce the size of the photo.
Nick Trueman