Go to page 1, 2  Next

New Scabbard for my Towton.
I made this wood cored scabbard for my new Windlass Towton.

I have been re-enacting for 15 years and have never made a scabbard, this is the first one.

The parrallel risers are where the belt suspension will attach.

I still have to finish sewing up the back seam and the steel chape needs to be moved up higher and set in place.

Pretty happy with the way it came out for a first effort. :D

My next project is to remove the lacquer and redo the grip.

[ Linked Image ]

[ Linked Image ]

[ Linked Image ]
Great job! A few questions:

-How did you do the risers?
-Did you make the chape yourself?
-How do you decide where to attach the suspension system?
Addison C. de Lisle wrote:
Great job! A few questions:

-How did you do the risers?
-Did you make the chape yourself?
-How do you decide where to attach the suspension system?

Thanks.

They are 3mm round cord glued to the wood.

The chape was on the leather scabbard that came with the sword. It wasn't too bad so I cleaned it up and reshaped it a little bit to fit the new scabbard.

I have been using swords for about 15years on and off horseback so I have a pretty good idea of where I like them to hang.
How are you going to set the chape in place? Is it just a friction fit, or do you use glue, or some other sneeky method I haven't thought of?

-Grey
Rod;

Well if this is your first effort it looks very professionally made to me and it is also very well designed and attractive. :cool:
Good question!!
Greyson Brown wrote:
How are you going to set the chape in place? Is it just a friction fit, or do you use glue, or some other sneeky method I haven't thought of?

-Grey

Thats definatly a good question and one I have thinking off asking also...

Someone else into scabbard making, that can answer??