What would be your two top reference books for ancient sword
Hi,
I'm new at collecting swords and when I post a question a lot of people come back with what they found in one of their books. So as a beginning collector myself, I think I should get some reference books. My interest lies mostley in roman and greek but I'm also interested in other BC swords.
I don't know it there are any books out there that just cover that period or that that period would be just a chapter or two in a larger book.
What books would you suggest? I believe a picture is worth a thousand words, so something with a lot of ilistrations would be preferable.

Thanks
Steve Sarak
Have you looked at our reading lists?
http://www.myArmoury.com/books/list.php?mode=showall

Everyone has their top choices clearly indicated.
Thanks for the link,
I didn't know it existed. When I went there and looked under the section I thought would be pertenant "Weapons and Arms" there were a total of 612 titles listed, most for firearms.
Going through 612 titles one at a time then reading a general review dosen't help to much. I'm sure given enough time on my part I could go through the entire list making notes, but for what I'm looking for, I was hoping that who ever reads this, could give me their opion on their top two books pertaining to what I'm looking for.

Thanks again
Steve
Steve Sarak wrote:
Thanks for the link,
I didn't know it existed. When I went there and looked under the section I thought would be pertenant "Weapons and Arms" there were a total of 612 titles listed, most for firearms.
Going through 612 titles one at a time then reading a general review dosen't help to much. I'm sure given enough time on my part I could go through the entire list making notes, but for what I'm looking for, I was hoping that who ever reads this, could give me their opion on their top two books pertaining to what I'm looking for.

Thanks again
Steve