Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Handling of Museum Pieces Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Dominic Dellavalle

PostPosted: Tue 30 Aug, 2005 7:00 am    Post subject: Handling of Museum Pieces         Reply with quote

Greetings everyone,

I have what I hope is a rather easy question to answer. How difficult or feasible is it for someone to be able to handle a museum piece? I'm sure that if I were an archaeologist or historian of some merit it would be a much easier task, but such is not the case. I am just a hobbyist with a love for the swords and armor of medieval Europe.

With the NY Metropolitan a short ride away I certainly have access to a museum that houses some fine pieces. I'm not even looking to handle something specific as much as have the opportunity to hold a piece of history, if only for a few moments.

As always any information provided is appreciated.
Thomas McDonald
myArmoury Alumni

myArmoury Alumni

PostPosted: Tue 30 Aug, 2005 7:23 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Hi Dominic

I know a few members here have handled pieces at the Met !

If you call ahead and make arrangements to study a piece, or two, the Met will accomodate !
It helps if you know the catalogue number(s) of the piece(s) you wish to see !
(viewing display items has to be worked around the museums hours of public patronage, etc!)

Good luck, Mac

'Gott Bewahr Die Oprechte Schotten'
XX ANDRIA XX FARARA XX
Mac's PictureTrail
Jesse Frank
Industry Professional

PostPosted: Tue 30 Aug, 2005 7:24 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

I've heard that it's difficult to do in the states, the European ones are much more accommodating in that respect. I had talked with Vince Evans about that one time, and that's what he told me his experience has been.
http://jfmetalsmith.com/
Dominic Dellavalle