Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Crossbows in urban militias
When a town goes to war, what kind of arms do they distribute to their citizens?

And what's more, how many citizens are there, at what levels of wealth?

Answers here for one mid-15th Century town.

https://martcult.hypotheses.org/1906
Hi,

Sorry for the underappreciated post, but I liked a lot. If you want help with statistics (I'm a Engineer) you can use my help.

Something about your text: you mentioned most of the weapons distributed were crossbows, but how many weapons were not? Also, why the city only stock mail armor, considering that coats-of-plates would be way cheaper; in Portugal, they supplanted infantry armor already by the 14th century (our only surviving Regimento de Coudeis, which works like a Comission of Array, dated 1430/40, prescribes CoP for wealthier crossbowmen).
If you haven't already done so Pedro, I'd recommend watching this short talk on the wider research of which the inventory is part :

https://martcult.hypotheses.org/1026

One of the aspects to the question about other equipment is there was an expectation that citizens would arm themselves to their degree. The city focussed on crossbows and firearms, but had a stock of equipment to assist those whose own personal kit fell short of the desired level. As to why mail, maybe because it is long lasting, easy to store and maintain, which would count for something in a city arsenal?
Hey guys, yeah sorry to chime in late, had some rather tragic computer hardware problems the last few days.