Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Recommended reading for Learning I.33 Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Aaron D

PostPosted: Fri 17 Aug, 2018 3:31 am    Post subject: Recommended reading for Learning I.33         Reply with quote

I've been lurking here for about a year or so now and I just started practicing HEMA earlier this year. I was wondering what books people recommend for learning sword and buckler in the style of I.33. I've seen the 4 books in the books section here and wanted to know if anyone had any particular advice on which would be most beneficial to a relative beginner. Thank you in advance!
J. Nicolaysen

PostPosted: Sun 19 Aug, 2018 7:11 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

I'm not a great resource for this since I don't actively study I.33 primarily due to a lack of training partner. But I do have some of the books I think you refer to. (I couldn't find the part in the Books section you mention). So here is my ranking.

First, I think Jeffrey Forgeng's two editions of the facsimiles are probably the best for someone who already has a little experience with body mechanics and sword handling and general dexterity so they can really get to closest to the source material and make their own decisions and judgments of what's going on. But I only have the first edition so I cannot truly compare the two editions.

2nd Edition app $50

First edition app $200+

Second I think Herbert Schmidt's Sword Fighting Vol II An Introduction to the Single Handed Sword and Buckler is very well done for the beginner who wants clear training methodology and good pictures to model from. But it is Mr. Schmidt's interpretation and it brings in later sword and buckler material from other masters such as Paulus Kal.