Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Reliability of Collier flintlock pistols? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Miko H.

PostPosted: Thu 29 Mar, 2018 6:35 am    Post subject: Reliability of Collier flintlock pistols?         Reply with quote

I'm no expert, but one thing that struck me about Collier's revolving flintlock pistols is that they appear to have less open space for the possibility of chain-fires than in some later revolver designs.

Looking at this I don't see any exposed touch holes other than the one positioned directly under the frizzen, and the addition of the shield that covers the front of the cylinder looks like a decent addition to improve reliability:

http://www.horstheld.com/0-Collier.htm

It looks to me like Collier's pistols had a similar design to some of Allen and Thurber's pepperbox pistols with the shield covering the other cap nipples that weren't in use:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/fe/AllenAndThurberPepperbox.jpg/1200px-AllenAndThurberPepperbox.jpg

Compare that to something like a Colt Dragoon '48 with exposed cap nipples and an open cylinder:

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/a/a6/Colt_Dragoon_Mod_1848.JPG/1920px-Colt_Dragoon_Mod_1848.JPG

Is there any historical evidence on Collier's flintlock revolvers indicating how common/uncommon incidents of chain-firing were on them?

I would make an uneducated guess that a bigger safety risk on these guns could be the possibility of a spark from the pan igniting the powder in the priming dispenser. Was there any internal feature that tried to prevent that?
Lin Robinson

Reading list: 6 books

PostPosted: Thu 29 Mar, 2018 7:38 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote