Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Poor Scabbard Fit Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Ron Franks

PostPosted: Thu 01 Feb, 2018 3:53 pm    Post subject: Poor Scabbard Fit         Reply with quote

Hello. I’m new to swords and this forum. I like most swords but Renaissance swords in particular. I have a custom smallsword on order with Arms & Armor but won’t see it for several months. To hold me over, I bought a Cold Steel smallsword which arrived today. While not perfect, I’m extremely happy with what I got for so little money. Anyway, it has one little issue I’m hoping you might help with. The sword won’t fit all the way into the scabbard by about ½ inch. It’s really tight at the throat. The scabbard appears to be fiberglass with leather turned inward. It’s finished very well but it’s way too tight. Should I just remove the leather inside the opening? I don’t really want to do that but can’t think of an alternative. Can someone offer any advice? Thank you.

Attachment: 100.78 KB
IMG_2062.jpg

Mark Moore

Reading list: 1 book

PostPosted: Thu 01 Feb, 2018 4:27 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

You might rub a little Neatsfoot oil or other leather conditioner on the inside, then take a hair dryer to it for a few minutes. When it gets good and warm, put the blade in good and firm as far as it will go. Let it sit until it cools off, or overnight, then remove the sword and clean the blade WELL. That's all I've got. I had to do that to a Windlass sword/scabbard once. It worked pretty well. Happy .....McM
''Life is like a box of chocolates...'' --- F. Gump
Terry Thompson

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb, 2018 4:26 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote