Go to page 1, 2  Next

Fulham Gladius Modification
Hello everyone,

Recently I have purchased my first sword - Deepeeka's Fulham Legionary Gladius. I bought it with an idea in mind of modifying it since I've always wanted to do a bit of wood working, it seemed like a good idea to make my own hilt components. I've had very little experience in this field, so I'd like to make this post and share with you my learning experience, progress as well as ask for your advice or any suggestions you might have.

Here's how far I got so far:

I've looked at a number of historical gladii as well as some modern reproductions and decided on a design for the hilt. I made a blueprint to help me keep the right proportions and measurements. For the materials I decided to go with American walnut for the guard and the pommel and English holly for the handle.

I started the process with the handle, as for some reason I thought it would be the easiest part. I cut a rough chunk off of the holly block and then went on to filing. I used both flat and half-round files as well as a set of fairly small files to get the sharpness of the edges.

Everything I've done so far was made by hand since I don't have any power tools, so the result is not 100% perfect but I'm fairly happy with it considering it's my first time doing this sort of thing.

[ Linked Image ]
[ Linked Image ]
[ Linked Image ]
[ Linked Image ]
[ Linked Image ]

Let me know what you think and feel free to give any tips or advice, it'll be much appreciated! Next, I'm going to have a go at the guard, wish me luck, cheers!
Lookin' good! I agree with your choices of wood completely. That will look great! :D ....McM
that looks great.
The handle is expertly shaped, :D so be carful drilling it! And do you have a metal part that goes between the blade and the wood guard? As that is an important part.;)