Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Barbed Spearhead? or not??? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Beth Helyer

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec, 2016 8:25 am    Post subject: Barbed Spearhead? or not???         Reply with quote

Hi All - I'm hoping that someone might steer me in the right direction on these spearheads - assuming that is what they are. I'm a bit of a novice with armoury - and yesterday I was given these. The elderly lady told me they came to her from her great grandparents - and were, she believed, from Africa. Can anyone confirm this to be the case - and if they are from Africa - which part? The one with the four holes looks to be made from copper - is this what is termed a currency spearhead? It measures approx 32cm and is aprox 7cm at its widest part. The other is very heavy - I'm assuming iron - measures 31cm to the place where there is evidence of a wooden handle(there is an additional 7cm of leftover wood and iron). I - cannot seem to find anything similar to the heavy piece - so wondering whether it isn't a spearhead?? I also don't seem to find anything like the copper one - in copper. [img][/img]Any information on either of these pieces would be really gratefully received. I'm keenly interested in anything old and there is nothing I like more than to learn about things outsice my normal spectrum. Thanking you all in advance for any help or advice you might be able to give.

Attachment: 357.32 KB
DSCN5989 (800x600).jpg

Attachment: 348.95 KB
DSCN5998 (800x600).jpg

Sean Flynt

Reading list: 13 books

Spotlight topics: 7

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec, 2016 10:21 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote