Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Need advice on basic equipment purchase Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Ísleifur Helgason

PostPosted: Thu 18 Feb, 2016 2:31 am    Post subject: Need advice on basic equipment purchase         Reply with quote

Greetings, I am new to this forum so let me introduce myself: I am an amateur medieval enthusiast and a recent student of HEMA, from a backwards society in regards to medieval re-enactment activity and swordsmanship.

Proper medieval fighting and arms collecting is virtually none-existent my country, so my friends and i(along with an experienced instructor) are in the process of forming a medieval fight club here(using only medieval protective gear), and probably the first one. Since you seem to be very knowledgeable i would greatly appreciate your advice on the best place or website to buy proper quality protective gear that is both historically accurate and offers good protection against blunt steel long-swords. I have come across many promising websites but i am stuck at a dead end since my expertise are limited, i need expert opinion before i make such a large investment. We will most likely start investing only in gambesons, gauntlets and head protection, maybe chauses and ankle boots aswell, however budget is limited. We will not be sparring full force until we get full body protection, but basic protection will do for now while we practice basic techniques.

The period we are going for would be around the late Middle Ages with a focus on Late 14th and Early 15th century England or Germany.

Regards.
Bram Verbeek

PostPosted: Thu 18 Feb, 2016 5:31 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

I would not opt for historical correctness in the beginning, it will be much more rewarding to piece together a complete set when you know what you want.