Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Request for advice from a newbie Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Robert Burley

PostPosted: Mon 26 Oct, 2015 11:05 am    Post subject: Request for advice from a newbie         Reply with quote

Hi, I'm brand new to sword collecting and would appreciate a little advice on the following question. I'm looking to buy my first reproduction sword and have narrowed the choice down to the Albion Crecy, or the Valiant Amory Crecy, Savoy Bastard Sword, or Prescott.

As background, I'm a history buff (and graduate) and used to be a competitive fencer. So I'm looking for a sword that has a very high level of historical authenticity and that will feel historically appropriate in its handling characteristics.

As you can see from the list I've given above I'm interested in acquiring a Longsword to start my collection (I plan on adding an arming sword, then a rapier after that).

Clearly the VA swords, with their included scabbards and lower price point, represent a more economical choice than the Albion .. but cost is only one factor..

I'd greatly appreciate any advice from this community on the relative merits of these swords.

Many thanks,

Rob
Roger Hooper

Spotlight topics: 4

PostPosted: Mon 26 Oct, 2015 12:09 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

If authenticity is important to you, you can't do better than Albion. Valiants are great swords at their price level, but not as good as Albions.

Look at swords from Arms and Armor. they are maybe a half step behind Albion, but don't cost as much. - http://www.arms-n-armor.com/
Robert Burley

PostPosted: Mon 26 Oct, 2015 12:50 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Thank you Roger, that is much appreciated.
Kuo Xie

PostPosted: Mon 26 Oct, 2015 1:21 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote