Best material to hang a sword
This is my first post because I'm buying my first sword!! I'm building a custom display case at home so I can lock the sword up so that little hands will not be able to access it quite so easily.

In a few months I'll be a proud owner of my first sword. A&A German Rapier and it's matching dagger.

I've read somewhere that a specific type of metal is best for hanging, or simply wood. What is the consensus here at myArmoury about best material to use? I'm guessing wood, but as I'm no expert I thought I'd see what you guys think.

Thanks!
Its your choice really. You need to balance aesthetics with practicality. Anything you use should complement the weapon and its not just what its suspended on, its whats behind too. So on a wooden plaque then maybe some nice wooden dowels to match. Have a look at some museums maybe?

I have a variety here ranging from decorative nails to wooden pegs to acrylic dowels to fishing line.
What do people think of Command Hooks? I have been debating using these for a while.
Isn't there a potential corrosion issue when hanging a sword (or any metal object for that matter) onto material which is of better corrosion resistance than the sword because of a chemical reaction affecting the metal?

J.B.
The word potential is the thing. Yes there is, but depends how you manage it. I live in Wales where we are as humid as the Amazon basis without the temperatures. To be honest reaction with what holds them up is the least of my worries, its the flipping air that's the problem here!