Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Amateur needing help - wakizashi authenticity? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Alex Sangster

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec, 2014 9:22 am    Post subject: Amateur needing help - wakizashi authenticity?         Reply with quote

Hi all,

I have been browsing the forums for a few months now, but this is my first post.

I am looking to purchase a first Japanese sword (wakizashi) and require your worldly assistance in determining it's origin (or as close as possible). Being my first purchase I have reservations just based on trusting myself, as well as the limited information provided by the seller. It is listed as a "19th century peice, copper fittings and a rattan weave scabbard."

The lack of description leaves me questioning the authenticity. I have attached a few images below. I know it is not a brilliant peice, some muppet has half killed the blade by a very crude attempt at sharpening it, however for a cheap, first purchase to see if is something I would be interested in collecting more seriously, I feel it is a pretty good choice.

The blade has no active Hamon, is not signed and I cannot decide if the wrapping is a bit to modern...

So with all of that in mind, if anyone could help me identify the authenticity of the peice, that would be great!

Any comments and suggestions are welcome.

Thanks for your help in advance Big Grin

P.S - Apologies I cannot get any close up pictures of the blade.

Attachment: 17.77 KB
2.jpg
Picture 2

Attachment: 15.98 KB
3.jpg
Picture 3

Attachment: 12.67 KB
1.jpg
Picture 1
Daniel Sullivan

PostPosted: Thu 04 Dec, 2014 10:21 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Alex,