Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > First Attempt at KatanaDIY Project Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Brian Nelson

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug, 2014 10:12 pm    Post subject: First Attempt at Katana         Reply with quote

Hello. I would like to share my first attempt at a katana. I created all parts excepting the blade which was a bare blade purchased and polished by me. This was also my first attempt at cutouts in steel, which I did with a jeweler's saw (maybe not the best way?). I need to work on my tsuka wrapping skills, I am very bad at it and have too clunky and uneven wrappings but hope to update you all on my next wrap attempt. I have done a seax and hilted a european sword but this is my first attempt at a katana, which I made to use in a medieval sound library project.

The tsuka design is a flower motif and based on a piece I favoured from the Edo period. On the right side is a five-petal with heart-shaped petals blossom and the left side has a five-petal and a three-petal blossom which are smoothly rounded petals. I maybe can find a better pictures showing the tsuba, this was the part I was most proud of as it was my first time using a jewelers saw and I was very pleased with the end result. I hope you find something to like in these two pictures. Please offer advice on wrapping if you are knowledgeable, also I have no special tools really, just a benchvise, could that aid me somehow in wrapping, or is it just a matter of practice, practice, practice, and more practice? I am working on the saya right now and hope to finish that in the next month or so. Thank you for looking.

Christopher Treichel

PostPosted: Thu 28 Aug, 2014 6:05 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote