Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Scottish Basket Hilt Broad Sword Custom Dealer Info Needed Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Glenn Simpson

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jun, 2014 8:00 pm    Post subject: Scottish Basket Hilt Broad Sword Custom Dealer Info Needed         Reply with quote

Howdy!

I am a rookie looking for a Scottish Broadsword of the type used at the Battle of Culloden, 1746. It should be "battle worthy" as I intend to pass it down to my heirs as such. Anyone know a maker that does these himself without importing them from Pakistan and adding his name to them?

Thanks
Glenn

Got the prettiest daughters, fastest horses, and flatest shootin rifles east of the Mississippi.
Chad Arnow
myArmoury Team

myArmoury Team

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jun, 2014 8:17 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Glenn,
Hello and welcome to myArmoury.com. Happy I'd recommend Armour Class in Scotland. You can find reviews of their products on our Reviews page and a link to their site on our Links page. I have a basket hilt of theirs and it's great. Happy

There are custom makers as well, but the price goes up quite a bit.

Happy

ChadA

http://chadarnow.com/
Lin Robinson

Reading list: 6 books

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jun, 2014 2:46 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

I will echo Chad's response to your question. I also have an Armour Class broadsword, an "S" hilt. It is very well-made and fairly authentic at a reasonable price. Their delivery times are also very good, at least they were for me. The one issue they have is the sheath, which is optional. I got one and made it work for me but I think most will want to find a custom sheath maker or make one rather than use what AC provides.