Peer Check Translation - Old Norse, Younger Futhark Runes
A request for input from my colleagues familiar with modern, or ancient, languages in the area of Denmark and Norway....

Recently, I was asked to help with a translation of the following English phrase....

"storm on the sea"

FROM English INTO Old Norse. I have no experience with Old Norse, though I have worked in other Languages.

The desire was to come up with plausible Old Norse, circa 980 to 1380 AD - then to render this into the appropriate Runes that were likely used by Vikings during that period.

I have employed online translators (http://www.freelang.net/online/old_norse.php), and Rune converters (http://www.vikingrune.com/rune-converter/). The basic WORD translation that I have arrived at is:

veğr fram haf

I understand from work with OTHER languages that a WORD translation may very well provide a bad PHRASE translation. There could easily be an issue with word "gender", or word order.

IF you are familiar with modern, and/or ancient languages from the area of Norway or Denmark? I would GREATLY appreciate your criticism of this phrase. The gentleman requesting this translation will be engraving it on a custom blade - and as we all know, it is very difficult to erase a steel engraving.

The Younger Futhark runes that I have seen appear thus:

[ Linked Image ]

Of course, these depend on the correct PHRASE - and the Runes themselves MAY have issues.

Any help you could render in this matter would be GREATLY appreciated by two of your colleagues.
Peer Check Translation - Old Norse, Younger Futhark Runes
Dean, you seem to be an expert in reading runes. Many people throughout the world including myself cannot read runes. Some Viking swords, original or repro, have runes engraved on their blades. Only the makers can read them.