Hello and q about george silvers swords
Hi the forum. I am just getting into reading about medieval martial arts and had a few questions about Georges paradox of defence. I was wondering if someone could clarify a couple of things?

When he speaks of a single handed sword with buckler in particular what sword type would it be for his period. Would it be some sort of oakshott type or something different?

Also can anyone decipher or flesh out his instructions on how to choose the perfect length sword. I can't get my head around the following :)

"To know the perfect length of your sword, you shall stand with your sword and dagger drawn, as you see this picture(sorry can’t paste it but sure you knowledgeable gents know the one) keeping out straight your dagger arm, drawing back your sword as far as conveniently you can, not opening the elbow joint of your sword arm, and look what you can draw within your dagger, that is the just length of your sword, to be made according to your own stature"

??

Lastly in another area he said for guys of tall stature a blade of a yard + 3-4 inches is perfect. Well this is a 40" blade- I am thinking that is pretty long for a single handed sword? especially considering he does not seem to like rapiers and imperfect length weapons too much.

The above q's have probably been covered here a dozen times so thanks for your patience.
Push your left hand (which holds the dagger) out as far as it can reach; pull your right hand (which holds the sword) back as far as you can while keeping the elbow bent; the position you're now in resembles drawing a bow, and the sword's blade should be just short enough that it fits behind the dagger, and can thus point freely to the left or right of the dagger without having to lift the tip over it. In other words, the blade reaches roughly from your left wrist to your right shoulder. For me, a fellow of fairly medium stature, that's up to about 34-36 inches, depending.