A Suontaka sword
A couple of years ago a good friend of mine approached me asking if I could make a sword for her like the one from Suontaka, Finnland. My first response was a polite «no». Everyone who has seen the original know the complexity of this piece and my wax carving skills are not up to that kind of task. Especially after reading through Peter Johnsson's thread on how his experience with making Albion's Valkyrja I was not entusiastic.
But, she continued to ask me and after a while I kind of got hooked on the idea, the question was only how...
I work in the games industry with, among other things, 3d modeling. This was at the time where 3d printing started to be available for the public in a quality that is fairly high. So, after some thought I agreed to do the project in 3d, print it and then casted.

She was obvious inspired by Albions Valkyrja when asking me (and I will not blame her, it is a fantastic looking sword), but I did not want to copy their work, so the basis for this hilt is the original, but with some of my personal touches. Another issue here is that she is not the strongest person around so i needed to make the sword as light as possible. Not a easy task with a hilt as big as this. So I decided to make the hilt hollow like the original. This way I could keep the massive look of it, but still keep the weight fairly low. It is also going to be used for re-enactment fighting, so it needed to be blunt and also take a punch.
I was also determined to not make it look digital and printed, so I used a lot of time looking at original carvings, castings etc. to get the feel right. I also used a lot of time fixing the models after printing.

I will try to go into details on my production method in a later post. .

Now, the sword :)

[ Linked Image ]

Total weight: 1.195 g
Balance: 12 cm
Blade length: 75 cm
Grip: 8.5 (but feels bigger because of the curved crossguard and pommel)