Daggers for everyday carry?
Greetings! I just joined this forum and I'm putting the finishing touches of my soft kit for a 12th-century Norman in Sicily. Although I have a PhD in Medieval art and architecture, I'm a relative newbie to the areas of historical arms and clothing.

My question today is about the use of daggers. Does anyone know of any literary or visual evidence of a dagger being carried or used in non-military venues? I'm thinking alonf the lines of something used for personsal protection, similar to how a civilian might carry a handgun today. From what I've been able to piece together from my research (which includes some of the other links on this forum), is that our knowledge of daggers before the 13th century is very scant. And it seems that every mention of them that I've been able to find suggests that daggers were used in purely military cotexts as a supplement to the sword. However, considering the relatviely violent character of rhe medieval period, it just seems reasonable to me that a dagger would have been an attactive option for everyday carry.

But what do you think?
My gut feeling is that it would be pretty unusual not to carry a side knife/dagger if you were a male out and about in the early medieval period. Not just for defence but for everything else it lends itself to. They are not just defensive, they are utilitarian all rounders.

For that period a simle whittel tang would do nicely. I'm not that up on the med but the Museum of london 'knives and scabbards' book has a few early examples and Toby Capwell's book on knives etc is probably worth a look. Think osprey cover the period too as does Dr David Nicolle in his volumes on crusader arms and armour, that certainly covers Italy and its surroundings.
For that specific time period, daggers seem rahter scarce.
I would respectfully like to oppose you Mark.