Go to page 1, 2  Next

Rawhide for edging viking shield, where can it be acquired?
I have used leather in the past and cut it in 3" strips to edge the circumference of the shield... But I find it a bit cumbersome and want to get a little more historical by using rawhide, but the pieces of rawhide at tandy seem pretty expensive for what you get (much smaller than the sheet of leather). Am I missing something here? I've never used rawhide before, so I don't know if it will expand a bunch when it is wet or what. Looking for answers on how to apply it mostly, and where you all find sells it pretty cheap is reasonably larger strips/sheets so I don't have 5 different pieces wrapping around a shield.

Thanks in advance!
Sean
This might sound weird, but go to a pet store or the pet isle in your local department store and get rawhide rolls/strips soak them in water, then attach them to the side of your shield. After it dries it's binds to the shield and it's obviously still rawhide and provides the protection you want. I've done this for two of my viking age shields.
I did think of that, lol. About how long do the pieces unroll to? Really what I mean is how many of them should I buy?

I used around 2.5 large plain dog chews (dried rawhide in the shape of a dog bone), and that went around my heater shield. The dog chews I used had one or two longish strips that were about an inch to two inches wide (it varied) with smaller retangler pieces wrapped inside which were used to go over the joined sections of longer rawhide.
I did end up adding extra strips along the top and right edge (to take more blows) and pinned it with 15mm black carpet tacks.
It holds up well, although the rawhide can dry quite sharp where you join it so its a good idea to cover the joins with another piece. I found that it was easy to stretch the rawhide, though you don't want it to stretched!