Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Wanted: Info on sword value and origins Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Simon Theman

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec, 2012 6:40 pm    Post subject: Wanted: Info on sword value and origins         Reply with quote

I would like to get more info on this sword. Its value, your comments on the making of it, i'm a noob so anything would help

Thanks

Simon
http://imgur.com/a/UpaTk

simon
R.M. Henson

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec, 2012 8:23 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

I'm definitely no expert, but my thought on it:

You can't see the blade? The only thing we have to look at is the hilt and it's case, all of which look fairly modern, probably factory assembled and recently made. Even if the blade was high quality or even historical there is no way to tell without seeing the steel. Most of how much reproduction/replica swords cost usually depends on the blade, not the furniture.

Maybe someone with more of a trained eye can shed some light on it.

Compagni of Schola St. George
http://www.scholasaintgeorge.org/
Simon Theman

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec, 2012 9:23 pm    Post subject: blade         Reply with quote

http://i.imgur.com/pmIVG.jpg

you can see some of it here

simon
Gregory J. Liebau

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec, 2012 11:20 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Looks like a reproduction katana sold by companies out of China. I reckon the blade is a decent high-carbon blend used these days, and the quality of the sword's fittings seems good. You can find swords like this on Ebay for quite a range of prices, depending on the specifics of the sword's manufacture and quality, which are stated in the auction (although I'd be cautious of the overly expensive pieces, which don't tend to justify the price).