Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Newbie Viking Shield Question
Hey fellow forumites,
I just recently found this great place, and have learned alot from you guys over the last few days. As you might guess by the following question, I'm fairly new to the whole historical arms and armour thing, but I haven't been able to find what looking for elsewhere, so thought I'd just ask here. I've been thinking about getting into reenacting or living history and at the moment I leaning towards the Viking age. The thing is I want to make (or have made, not sure yet) a historically accurate shield. I've found all the info I need, in regards to type of wood, and dimensions etc. but I'm not sure whether to face the shield in leather or in rawhide. Now most people's shields I've seen are faced with leather, but I've seen test done with a rawhide faced viking shield on a show called Weapons That Made Britain. So what I would like to know is, is there any evidence of rawhide faced shields at this point in history? I do know that surviving examples of later medieval shields were sometimes faced with parchment, which is essentially just quality rawhide, or is this wrong? Anyways thanks for any help.

Jason
Hi Jason, and welcome. :) I have never seen or heard of a Viking age shield being faced with rawhide. I'm not saying it was never done, I've personally just never come across any artifacts or definitive literature suggesting so. This makes it difficult to give a definitive answer based on what information left to us from the period.

A facing on a shield certainly adds significant strength. This site has a lot of great info on shields and all things Viking... http://www.hurstwic.org/history/articles/manu...hields.htm