Indian products
Hey everyone.

I was just wondering what everybody's opinion on the Indian produced armour available. It seems most of the stuff you can buy comes from there, then you have stores which order it in from India and sell it locally for double the amount.

I want to buy a set of chain, but its a lot of money to spend on something without knowing the full story.
<eBay link removed>

I've bought a few helmets from different Indian retailers and I've found the quality to be excellent. I'm no expert, however, so I'd like to know your opinions and if this shirt is a good deal or not. There are $500 shirts around but I can't afford that, so how different is this to a high end one?

Thanks.
Maille shirt
Hi Dave

I'm not sure I'd go with aluminium if you are after a maille shirt even though this one says riveted. It also says LARP on the link you posted so I very much doubt it would work well for WMA or any sort of serious contact.

I'd be tempted to save a few more $ and get steel. Alternatively if you are looking to do contact training now but not full tourney level, maybe a gambeson instead?

I got a wedge riveted hauberk (mix of solid and riveted rings) for NZ$700 from an Indian supplier and it took a good few hits with just a linen shirt underneath at the Harcourt Park tourney (WMA type rules with reasonable contact) here to no ill effect to me or the maille.

cheers

mike
I looked into the riveted aluminium mailles a year ago, they're fine for larp, as movie props or posing for tourists all day without the real weight of one.
The ones I saw were clear (milky white silver) anodized and most re-enactment groups would probably frown on this unrealistic colour though, unless you oil burn or paint it black. If you can get it in matte black anodizing that would look better. Maybe you can get it re-annoed to black after you buy it. If it's worth the effort.