Sword ID help please
Hello all.
I am searching for an expert opinion on this sword. Is it what one would call a rapier? Where was it from? Does it look authentic?

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. It is 44 inches long.[/img]

Attachment: 27.13 KB
munich 2.jpg
full view

Attachment: 33.62 KB
munich 3.jpg
hilt 1

Attachment: 34.32 KB
munich4.jpg
hilt 2
First of all, I'm not an expert, but as no one else has replied yet i thought I'd give my two cents.

The whole rapier thing is debatable, I'd call it a rapier, others may not.

As far as authenticity goes, I can't really say, nothing stands out to me as obviously modern, but it is does appear to be in excellent condition for an original. A close up of the stamp on the ricasso might help.

As far as where it's from goes, again, I can't really say, but it does look like a lot of Germanic rapiers I've seen.

Hope that helps!
I would call it a Feldrapier - literally "Field-rapier" - which is a term I have only seen to describe reproductions, so I have no idea how widespread it is, but anyway, it's sort of a transitional weapon between the medieval sword and the rapier. A sort of battlefield Rapier, if you want.

And according to Wikipedia the thing I mean is called Spada da lato, as the name suggests it's an Italian weapon, though that can only be a clue in the origin of this blade and in no way proves anything.
I just found a thread on Sword Forum International from several years ago with pictures of an identical sword. It does appear to be a replica.

Thanks for the help.
-Dave
i have no idea about if its real or fake and what type of sword it is but it looks like a nothern italian weapon maybe milano or venezia from anywere between 1500-1700 im not an expert, but i went to italy about 4 months ago and saw a sword like that in venice and it was labeled "milano rapier" not sure why it was in venice but... thats all i know on the subject
Cervenka ?