Help Save IMAREAL!
I'll post this here on the grounds that the resource in question is well represented in this forum as we discuss historic arms and armour.

European economic distress is threatening IMAREAL, one of this community's best online resources, located in Krems, Austria.
Read about the threat at http://www.companie-of-st-george.ch/cms/?q=en/axing-imareal and then follow the link to sign the petition (an English PDF will guide you through the German form).

This is important, folks! If you've seen almost any of my own arms work you've seen the results of IMAREAL research. Many of you have directly used this incredible resource for clothing, swords, knives, scabbards, shoes, armour and various other everyday items of medieval kit.

I lived in Krems at the turn of the century, when a quirk of Austrian democracy made the country political poison to other parts of Europe. As much as I appreciate IMAREAL as a student of arms and armour, as a public relations professional I know how important it is for Austria to sustain such important academic and cultural outreach. Such work can do a great deal to build a country's reputation and provide a counterbalance to the inevitable negative perceptions.

Please help!

Attachment: 183.82 KB
1515.JPG

Signed.

But can you tell us a bit about that picture you attached?
Will sign tomorrow for sure. This is premium material and I've spent a solid dozen of hours browsing its contents if not more.

J
Signed.
I think I have signed. I saw my name on the list to the right, I think that makes me good.
Signed. I have used Imareal extensively, and I have hoped that it would be eventually expanded to other countries and image resolution increased...

:eek:
Paul Hansen wrote:
Signed.

But can you tell us a bit about that picture you attached?

That's an IMAREAL detail from one of their million-or-so martyrdom scenes. Ca. 1520, if I remember correctly. I just happened to have that one close to hand for a current project.