Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Viking bastard sword
Hi, I need your help. I'm looking for some pics.

It's possible to have a picture of an historical viking bastard sword or a two-handed viking sword?

I'm not an expert, so I don't know if these kind of swords existed in the past.

Thanks!
Viking swords were exclusively single handed. You will never find a picture of a historical bastard or two handed viking sword. Sorry.
I wouldn't put myself forward as an expert either but I think this question has been asked before and I think the answer is that they don't exist. Bear in mind that the swordsmanship of the time was largely predicated on sword and shield so it kind of rules out two handed swords.

There are some fairly large single handed historical Viking swords and there are some large modern Viking swords, Albion's Ulvbane for example is massive and comes in at around four pounds
You can find some longer grip swords that were made after the viking period that utilized a couple variations of the late viking era pommels. These of course were not viking swords.
Hi Net, I haven't seen your first image before - don't know if it's an actual Viking excavation or what. The second and third images have been discussed here before - I believe they are both attributed as being Renaissance era bearing swords, made to resemble Viking-age broadswords, but with two-handed grips. Hope this helps.
There were obviously quite many discussion about it all over the Net, but in general, despite the traces of unusually long gripped 'Viking' swords found here and there, there's no real evidence that suggest that they might have been used as a "bastard".

Some links for discusions about it, on myArmoury as well.

http://forums.armourarchive.org/phpBB3/viewto...half+sword

http://www.myArmoury.com/talk/viewtopic.php?t...highlight=
Here is another good discussion of that sword (scroll down to post #19 for additional photos of the sword):