Help-Ernst Schmidt - replica shield ??
I have a replication of a Jorg Sigman 1552 Medusa parade shield. The original has been housed at the Victoria & Albert museum UK (museum # 3660-1855) since 1855. Here is the url with more detailed info
and pics of the original http://collections.vam.ac.uk/item/O97494/parade-shield/

Has anyone seen a replication of this before? My curiosity is with when it may have been replicated, who might have replicated, how many replications were made, and of course whether there is any value other than my adoration. I did have someone tell me it might be an Ernst Schmidt but have not found any info on this particular shield.

My shield is made of a thin brass or copper then filled with some type of plaster material (homemade pitch?) It is not iron as it wont hold a magnet.

Any information anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated.. Believe it or not I have been researching this shield for 10 years and yesterday I finally found the original so hoping this new info might lead me to answers on the replication. Wishful thinking probably.

I would more than happy to send pics via email of my shield if anyone is interested.. I tried to place as attachment here but guess is over runs the size limitations.

Thanks in advance - Julia
Very intriguing. Can you post pictures of the replica? The quality of the replication will be a key part of figuring out whether or not someone of Ernst's caliber may have made it! He was quite the replica artist in his time.

-Gregory
Here are some pics of my shield. Obivously it was made from placing the copper/brass over a mold or something as some of the detail is lost from the original. Did Schmidt use molds?Thanks again

Attachment: 56.35 KB
front (Small).JPG

Attachment: 86.44 KB
SHIELD CLOSE (Small).jpg

Here is the back of the shield where you can see the metal over lapping the filler

Attachment: 43.02 KB
back of shield (Small).JPG