Hanwei Cromwell sword.
I was interested in finding one of these swords for sword and buckler sparring and stage choreography. My questions are as such; 1) Is there an unsharpened version of this sword available? 2) If i were to file down a sharpened version would I lose a significant amount of the blade material/ profile? I have not handled one of theses so I do not know how thick the blade is or how fast the edge gains thickness. Any help would be awome. Thanks.
Kult of Athena has the Practical Mortuary sword, it's the same type of sword as the cromwell just not as fancy, and it's blunt.

http://kultofathena.com/product.asp?item=PC2076

Hope this helps. :)
I have a Hanwei mort, and I must say it's best for those with smallish hands. The basket catches the back of my hand just above the wrist.
Hi there Dan,

I have some experience with the practical Hanwei Mortuary sword,and I thought I would give you my opinion.Like yourself,I use this weapon for sword and buckler sparring. First of all,it is very short...when fighting against rapier or even sabre,you will find yourself outdistanced.Thus,it is neccesary to be offensive and agressive with this particular sword(the I33. style works fairly well).The blade is very stiff,and is excellent for performing strong beats and envelopments,although you can really bruise someone if you strike too hard.The overall finish is very nice,almost too nice for a sparring sword.The basket offers supreme hand protection,and overall the sword is very well balanced and quick,with a slightly forward weight.The only problem that bothered me was that the basket is pretty small.The top tends to rub against my hand ,and I have small hands . Overall,it is an excellent weapon for the price.I hope this helps you in your consideration :)

Cheers :D