Spartan Sword...
I am relatively new to collecting, and have a very limited knowledge. I have found this site to be extremely helpful, but I couldn't find the exact answer I was looking for. I tried other sources too, but I am probably using the wrong keywords or looking in the wrong places. I am curious about the swords featured in the movie 300. I understand that the Spartans primarily used spears, and used the sword as a secondary weapon for close combat. Again, I could be mistaken. Most of the historical swords used a very different shape then those found in 300. Is there any historical accuracy to the shape of this sword whatsoever? The sword I am speaking of is pictured below. Any help would be appreciated.

-Jon

Attachment: 116.45 KB
[ Download ]
It's complete fantasy.

Like almost all fantasy weapons, there are bits and pieces that draw inspiration from all kinds of sourses, but the final product is not based on a historical example.
It's kind of like a badly designed, surreal version of a kopis. http://www.myArmoury.com/talk/viewtopic.php?t...ight=kopis

I don't think the Spartans used that sword. Instead they typically used a very short leaf-bladed xiphos.
Re: Spartan Sword...
Jon K. wrote:
I am relatively new to collecting, and have a very limited knowledge. I have found this site to be extremely helpful, but I couldn't find the exact answer I was looking for. I tried other sources too, but I am probably using the wrong keywords or looking in the wrong places. I am curious about the swords featured in the movie 300. I understand that the Spartans primarily used spears, and used the sword as a secondary weapon for close combat. Again, I could be mistaken. Most of the historical swords used a very different shape then those found in 300. Is there any historical accuracy to the shape of this sword whatsoever? The sword I am speaking of is pictured below. Any help would be appreciated.

-Jon