Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Advice on painting a helm? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Robert Hinds

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jan, 2011 2:09 pm    Post subject: Advice on painting a helm?         Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm considering painting my helmet and would like any advice the myArmoury community could give me. The things I specifically need help/advice on are:

- Whats the best type of paint to use?

- How many coats of said paint should I apply?

- Do I need a primer or finishing coat?

- Do I need to roughen up the steel before I paint? (it has a pretty shiny surface at the moment)

- Is there a good way to apply/stencil on designs? (I'm not too good at intricate painting Worried )

- Should the helmet have a glossy or a matte finish? What do historical helms have?

- Would it behistoricallyy accurate to paint the entire helm black with small white suns or something over the rivets?

- Any kind of simple design suggestions appreciated. Razz Wink

I've searched the forums buthaven'tt really found anything on the best way to do this.

This is probably something pretty basic that most people know about, but I'm pretty clueless about this subject... Sad

My dad suggested taking it to a body shop and having them paint it, but I'm guessing thats not exactly historically accurate. Wink

Also feel free to post any images of painted helms, museum peice,illustrationn or even you're own. Happy

Thanks in advance for helping me out. Happy

EDIT: Incase it's important, the helmet is a GDFB sallet. And it's for a 1470's WotR period kit.

"Young knight, learn to love God and revere women; thus your honor will grow. Practice knighthood and learn the Art that dignifies you, and brings you honor in wars." -Johannes Liechtenauer

"...And he that hath no sword, let him sell his garment, and buy one..." Luke 22:36
Eric Allen