Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Peened vs. Thread Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Donald Dupuis

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan, 2011 10:15 am    Post subject: Peened vs. Thread         Reply with quote

As a newcomer to this forum I have read topics on certain desirable features for sword selection. What interest me is, what is the preference of hilts that are peened or threaded and why.
As a design engineer I am very familiar with the strength of threaded joints, is the choice to have hilts peened purely one of historic accuracy?
Craig Shackleton

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan, 2011 10:51 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Depending on the method of attachment, a peened pommel may keep the pommel aligned better. I have seen disk pommels that were directly threaded to a tang without a pommel nut, meaning that if it needed tightening, the pommel had to be shifted out of alignment unless it could be tightened exact half-turn increments.

Of course, a tang that goes through the pommel and is attached with a threaded nut also avoids this.

I do think that a peened pommel gives an impression of greater strength. I honestly couldn't tell you if it is stronger or not.

I suspect historical accuracy is a factor in most people's preference for peened pommels, although we know that some manuscripts show threaded pommels (Gladiatoria and one of Talhoffer's, offhand).

I do like the idea that a peened pommel is not going to start loosening off during use, although I know fittings can work loose regardless. Generally though, I personally like threaded tangs for ease of repair and maintenance.

I expect I am an anomaly as far as these opinions go.

Ottawa Swordplay
Tim Lison

Reading list: 6 books

Spotlight topics: 1

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan, 2011 11:06 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote