Scottish 17th Century Targe
"Scottish 17th Century Targe"

http://www.liveauctioneers.com/item/8035127

What are your opinions on this item?

A 19th century fantasy or just misnamed?

Attachment: 50.75 KB
0730_1_lg.jpg

Attachment: 37.85 KB
0730_2_lg.jpg

Hi Karl, thanks for posting this. I'm far from an expert on this subject, but to my unlearned eyes this seems to look more like an English or continental target.
I do not think this is a Scottish targe. It just does not look like any antique targe I have ever seen. I looked at the web site and did not find any description of its construction.

Just speculation but but I think this may be a Victorian attempt at a targe or perhaps it is a shield from somewhere and some time frame unknown.
I have been looking at this targe (shield) It does not look like it is leather covered but more like steel in texture. The studs are Iron and the design material looks more like tarnished Copper than the usual Brass. If you look at the back of the shield carefully you will notice the stud shank is finished off like a rivet. It probably had a boss and a spike. However, its a good design and because of its stated age (if true) it could be Scottish. We did have metal targes.
I have had no reply from the auction house wit more details of this item.
I have heard from the auction house and they have confirmed the targe/shield materials. The targe is not leather covered but is an Iron based shield with red Brass decoration and Iron studs. This being so it could still be a Scottish targe but from the early to late 17 th C. James Drummond does show a Scottish/Highland metal shield.
I'll go with Lin on this. I just think it looks like some of the other stuff made in the Victorian era...

A carbon test would be interesting...

Cheers,
Henrik