Pommel Peening Woes.....
Hello there,this is my first time starting a new topic ,hope you like it.

Last night I finally finished my august/september project, a hobbit shortsword.Yes,it's VERY short, and one would deem it a long, chunky dagger on sight ,but you have to actually FEEL it to understand why it is definately a sword.My apoligies for not having any pictures yet....

Anyways,all was going smoothly until it came time for final assembly and peening.This was my first time peening a pommel,and things quickly went south :lol: I seen Owen Bush using a gas torch when peening,so I figured that would be the way to go.However,I don't own one of those(it's sad, I know),so I used a portable propane torch instead.Same concept,right?So with drool on my chin,I slip everything into place,and with the flick of the lighter and the grin of a mad scientist,I start directly heating the end of the tang.And heating,...and heating.....My patience is wearing thin,and I can tell something is wrong.The pommel is absorbing all the heat.I got the top of it all the way to purple,but that darn tang stubbornly resisted my hammering :confused: .In the end,I finally was able to get it to mushroom just enough with a few desperate blows.Miraculously,my wood grip never did burst into flames :D Despite the surprisingly happy ending,I wasn't astoundingly pleased with the results.So my question is ....am I doing something wrong? Or is peening normally a hit and miss pain? Whats the deal? I know there are guys on this forum who could probably peen a blade in their sleep,so knowledgeable replies would be greatly appreciated.