Please help ID Swept Hilt Rapier
I recently purchased an antique swept hilt rapier and I've begun to question it's authenticity. I know it's hard to tell from pictures alone, but can anybody offer any insight based on these. This was advertised as an Italian Swept Hilt Rapier of about 1600. I would appreciate any thoughts, as I am no expert in this field.
Thank you,
-Dave

Attachment: 43.47 KB
rapier1.jpg

Attachment: 92.84 KB
rapier2.jpg

Attachment: 35.71 KB
rapier3.jpg

Attachment: 25.3 KB
rapier4.jpg

Not the same one, and the one I'm linking to is a reproduction Del Tin:
http://www.kultofathena.com/product.asp?item=...ian+Rapier

Now if you look closely you can see enough differences that it's not the same rapier but the guard style is very very close.

You can use the description about the Del Tin on the Kult of Athena site as also being applicable to your sword as to period and style.

I can't tell you if your sword is a period sword or a modern copy but it does look like the Del Tin shown as based on it or a very similar sword.

Yours could be original or a Del Tin made sword i.e. an earlier version of the sword they currently make ?
( Could be a reproduction made by another maker but my gut feeling is, that unless it is an original, it just feels like a Del Tin to me ).
Photo of the maker's mark would help.
Hello,
IMHO this is a composite of new and old parts.The two most obvious things are the junction of the pommel and the grip, and that the swept guard appears modern.
Here are a few more pictures.
Oops, I'll try attaching those pictures again when I get home tonight.