Questions re mixing fighting styles
Hello again,

I know I'm new here but I'm going to plunge right in - I hope that's OK.

As a writer, my current genre is SF, but as an historian I blanche at some of the current offerings, particularly of the Sword-and-sorcery style. I feel very strongly that "fiction" shouldn't mean "inaccurate" ;) I grit my teeth every time someone does something impossible with a horse (my particular "expert" area) - I can imagine you guys do when you read fight passages. :)

So, I have some q's regarding my current in-third-draft world-building project - and swordsmanship is my weak area. I hope you gentlemen can help me.

Basically, I have two cultures that have different fighting styles, although as frequent opponents they must obviously adjust their styles to meet the other's effectively.

So, my first question is: how would a person from a culture that fights in a more precise style, say, rapiers/16th C-type stuff, meet an attack from a culture that prefers the "hack and bash" to the "slash"... ?

The second question is: what sort of adjustments would be necessary to the weaponry itself once a culture realised the other used heavier weapons than they, if any?

Pretend I'm a complete ignoramus who knows absolutely nothing about anything - you wouldn't be too far wrong ;)

Many thanks. :)
Hi Heather, and welcome!

Of course we don't mind you plunging right in!

Let me see if I can help you out a little, as someone who's specialties are 16th century Italian rapier and 14th century German two handed longsword. (the two fighting styles sound about like what you're after, ironically.)

First off, let me just applaud you for wanting fiction to be believable. Too many authors, especially Sci-Fi/Fantasy, don't really care, and the sword area is one where many authors fail miserably.