Go to page 1, 2  Next

Help me figure out my head for my kit
Hi there,

I am in the process of putting together/budgeting my kit.

My centerpiece is going to be a 15th century brigandine armor chest.

For arms/legs/greaves I was planning on getting the 15th century designs from Merc tailor, some fingered gauntlets, and the pauldrons haute pieces (also from Merc tailor).

That leaves my head, which is what I need the most help with.

I really like this helmet: http://armourandcastings.com/index.php?_a=vie...ductId=363
I like sallets, but I don't like the lack of head flexibility of bevors. I was hoping to put this with a gorget.

However, I am new at this, so I am not sure sure if I a missing anything, and all thoughts are appreciated.

Things I could be missing: chain skirt for the hips? Any extra chain under the brig? I don't know what else, yikes!

Thanks in advance!
Brigs sure are popular lately. :D

Ask yourself which decade in the 15th century you're aiming for, as there were many changes in fashion and style then, especially during the last quarter. You'll have to make sure the styles of all the parts match otherwise it just won't look good.

The bellows visor sallet you show is rather late, ca. 1490. It's an absolute eyesore to me when I see someone on the field in 1470's kit with a bellows sallet and it happens a lot. The same goes for the so called ' black' sallets, and high gothic armour, which are extremely late as well.
Also keep in mind that these are italian helmets. Which area are you basing you portrayal on?

You tell us that you like 'regular' sallets, but are scared off by the immobility caused by bevors. Here's a surprise: with a proper bevor you'll have plenty of mobility. It should be tight to the face and not too wide. This can be quite hard with Milanese (export) style sallets, but it's possible.