Can you identify this rusty old dagger?
I'm hoping one of the knowledgeable folks on this forum will be able to give me some pointers on the likely origin of this curved dagger of about 15 inches in length which was found in a field about 60 years ago. The dagger has a curved blade of fairly uniform thickness about 10 inches in length. The blade seems to have been been sharp on both sides.

The handle is made from a similar metal to the blade but seems to have some faint colouring in places. The most striking thing about the handle is its relatively small size - it is too small for my average-sized hand and seems to be out of proportion with the blade.

The total weight is 400g.

I apologise if I am using incorrect terminology - I am a beginner at this.

I have attached some images below and would appreciate any ideas you may have. Thanks.

Attachment: 217.94 KB
[ Download ]

Attachment: 219.72 KB
[ Download ]
An indian Chillanum Dagger.
I'll agree with the above post, just looking around i found a few similar daggers. Here are some pics and page links.

[ Linked Image ]
[ Linked Image ]
[ Linked Image ]

http://www.goantiques.com/detail,century-indi...38545.html

[ Linked Image ]

http://www.christies.com/LotFinder/lot_detail...ID=1318292
Thank you
Mr Stiegler and Mr Kaisia - Thank you for your speedy replies to my question. I have looked at the images of Chilanum daggers and I can see that this one does seem to be of the same type.

So you have answered my question, but also created a new one: how did this Indian dagger come to be buried in a farmer's field in South East England? You can see from its condition that it must have been buried for a long time before it was found in 1950. I guess that will remain a mystery.

Anyway - thank you again for your advice - it is much appreciated.

Last edited by D Mercer on Tue 19 Jan, 2010 3:17 pm; edited 1 time in total