Viking staff?
Does anyone know of any extant Viking staves? Anything with iron end caps? Photos or web references?

Thanks,
Mike
Hello Mike,

An extant staff would be a pretty lucky find, since wood is perishable. It's uncommon to find the hafts from hafted weapons from what I've seen. I will say that there is a reference in one of the sagas (Laxdaela maybe?) to a large axe with an iron shod haft, but that's as close as I've seen. Not much there.
Well, intact wood is rare findings in archaeological digs, but not unheard of (The Oseberg ship for example) And far from being a bashing weapon there are a find from Lund of a really nice carved walking stick. I can't find an image of it at the moment though, need to get home to my book-shelf.
http://www.runesnruins.com/runes/lund_stick.htm
Gavin Kisebach wrote:

Ah, there it is! Funny enough, I am a resident of Lund and still some guy from overseas beat me to find the image :D
the use of staves for self defence in the scandinavian countries was probably hampered by the free access to actual weaponry. It appears that it was not uncommon to carry axes as walking sticks and self defence items.
Elling Polden wrote:
the use of staves for self defence in the scandinavian countries was probably hampered by the free access to actual weaponry. It appears that it was not uncommon to carry axes as walking sticks and self defence items.

Of course, an actual stick might be more comfortable for people requiring a cane. ;)
Bjorn Hagstrom wrote:
Gavin Kisebach wrote:

Ah, there it is! Funny enough, I am a resident of Lund and still some guy from overseas beat me to find the image :D

This is one of the reasons I love this site so much! We're a community unto our own.
R D Moore wrote:
Bjorn Hagstrom wrote:
Gavin Kisebach wrote:

This is one of the reasons I love this site so much! We're a community unto our own.

As penance for being out-googled by a foreigner, Bjorn will be buying me lunch as soon as I can make it to Lund. :lol: