Do you believe that the Kensington Runestone is authentic?
Yes
26%
 26%  [ 8 ]
No
73%
 73%  [ 22 ]
Total Votes : 30

What do YOU think about the Kensington Runestone?
As a former Minnesota resident, I can tell you that there is always a discussion in the historic re-enactment community about the Kensington Runestone going on. Every few years, new evidence seems to arise either supporting or denying its authenticity. Is it an important artifact from the 14th century or a 19th century hoax? This debate is endless, as soon as an authority debunks the Runestone as a fake, another seems to confirm it as being authentic.

My question is, what is your personal thoughts on the Kensington Runestone? :wtf:
My reasoning can be summed up as: Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.

So the stone creates a valid reason to search and dig more but proves litte on it's own.

Cheers,
Steven
May be its a bit of wishful thinking but I have to go with the "its authentic" crowd.

I was watching some show a while back that had the premise that some of the odd characters on the stone were not mistakes but rarely used 13th century runes that would not have been know to a farmer. They do make reference to this in the Wiki page http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kensington_Runestone (Just take into account the page assumes its a hoax)

Another page http://www.geocities.com/athens/aegean/6726/k...ington.htm on the Rune stone. Apparently there are other ruin stones found around the country even down to Tulsa, OK along with other Viking artifacts and mooring stones.