Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > My first custom: BKS XIIa Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Alan Schiff
Industry Professional

PostPosted: Fri 15 May, 2009 4:49 pm    Post subject: My first custom: BKS XIIa         Reply with quote

There’s a long story behind this sword, but I’ll try to make it short. I read a lot of fantasy, and I’ve always liked stories with magical or special swords in particular. I’ve been collecting for several years now, and in the back of my mind I’ve always been looking for that super-special sword, one that I could believe belongs in a story. But I’ve never found a production piece that really spoke to me that way. I’ve seen a lot of customs like that, though. So last year I decided instead of continuing my search for a special production piece, I would just get the sword made custom. So I spent a month or two going through various designs, some more fantasy-like and some more historically based, and finally came up with a design that I liked more than anything else. Simple yet elegant is how I would describe it.

So last May I contacted Matt at Baltimore Knife & Sword, because I had seen some of their pieces in person at the ren fair here, and they always look great and the grips are really comfortable. The ultimate result is the best (IMO) sword in my collection. I received the sword on Monday, and it is truly awesome!

Here are the stats:
Overall Length: 44.75 inches
Blade Length: 34.75 inches
Blade Width at Base: 1.875 inches
Blade Width before Tip: 0.875 inches
Guard Width: 8.5 inches
Grip Length: 7.125 inches
Fuller Length: 23 inches
Weight: 3 lbs 3 oz
CoG: 2 inches from guard
CoP: 21 inches from guard

Appearance: