Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > Whippy Wasters? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Colt Reeves

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar, 2009 7:24 pm    Post subject: Whippy Wasters?         Reply with quote

I started my first bit of two-handed practice in the back-yard today with my Baron's Sword. (http://www.museumreplicas.com/p-191-barons-sword.aspx)
Now, it being a Windlass of good length, it was rather whippy. (I'm looking into returning it, but I was foolish enough to ask for a sharpened one and the packing slip says they don't allow the return of sharpened swords...) However, this brought up something I found somewhat interesting. The whippiness, as you might suspect, was most apparent when moving the sword from side to side. Now, although I have had training in Tae Kwon Do, I am pretty new to swords, thus I often fail to properly angle the blade (Might be amusing to anyone watching, as the TKD training allows me to easily follow the footwork while simultaneously mangling a swing Big Grin ). The whippiness made this readily apparent whenever I did something wrong though. Because of this, I was wondering if some of the wasters and practice swords out there are made whippy in order to help train newbies?

(And yes, I realize training with a sharpened sword is... unwise, thus my practice session is rather slow and careful.)
JE Sarge
Industry Professional

PostPosted: Thu 19 Mar, 2009 10:04 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

As far as my WMA goes, you want to stay away from a whippy training blade; nor am I familiar with another medieval swordsmanship study group that actually desires this as a quality.
J.E. Sarge
Crusader Monk Sword Scabbards and Customizations
www.crusadermonk.com

"But lack of documentation, especially for such early times, is not to be considered as evidence of non-existance." - Ewart Oakeshott
Jared Smith